Mason Jar Tumbler Tutorial

_MG_9592
Standard

I have seen a few tutorials on different blogs for a mason jar tutorial. However, there is a key here that I discovered and it saved my tumbler making. Stick with me and I’ll show you how.

Materials needed:

3/8″ rubber grommets

drill

3/8″ brad point drill bit

hammer

small finishing nail

re-usable straws (metal or polycarbonate depending on your preference)

Now I have seen these tumblers made and the folks call for a tin snips so you can snip off all the metal bits hanging around the drilled hole when you’re done. Not here – and I am thankful because those kinds of little steps irritate me. Onto the tutorial.

The rubber grommet.

First off, head to your home improvement store (or buy in bulk on Amazon or something – but I was in a hurry and couldn’t be bothered) and pick up the amount of rubber grommets for tumblers you desire to make. I found these at Home Depot in the aisle with the screws/nails in one of those thin drawers and it had a label with rubber grommets on it. Pick the 3/8″ size.

Brad Point Drill Bit

Now here folks, this is where it gets reaaaallllyyy good. The brad point drill bit. We are renting an apartment and I had no bit so large and asked the handyman guy if he had a 3/8″ drill bit I could use. He gave me this set and it was a happy accident that they were brad point. Honestly, never heard of brad point bits before this, but these bad boys make this project a dream to make. Again, remember I dislike those tedious annoying tasks like the tin snips – I want the hole to be smooth and clean, no metal lumps or bumps.

the “brad point” :)

Notice that sharp point. Actually the whole thing is pretty sharp on the end like a tri-pointed razor blade.

Now here’s the trick, you put that bit in and with the canning lid/ring on your jar, put the bit where you want the straw hole to be. I chose a little off-center. Begin to drill but go SLOWLY and press a little. You want to go SLOWLY. The reason is, below -

If you go SLOWLY, you get a really nice scoring action on the lid, prepping it for a clean cut. Once you get these nice score marks, just drill right on through. Sounds intimidating or something, but it goes super fast and is way easy.

Notice the beautifully smooth hole – like a factory made one or something – score!

My first attempt without brad point and no tin snips – mutterings and annoyances abound.

Notice the gnarly hole? No brad point bit – mega annoying.

Next, working carefully to keep yourself free from finger cuts, work your grommet into the hole. Perfect fit!

Then insert your straw. These are polycarbonate ones I got on Amazon. I was surprised because the fit was very snug. A little dip under the faucet and the straw slid in smoothly.

I washed one lid/straw combo and gave it to my 5 year old to try. He said he liked it but couldn’t really get the water out of the jar. Hmmm. I tested – very difficult. Aha! You need the little breather hole!


Get out your hammer and finishing nail and tap that lid a little breather hole and voila – your project is done! Now whip out a few more, wash them up, add your straws and drink like a camel! I made 5 of them and it literally took 10-15 minutes. Not bad!

One thought on “Mason Jar Tumbler Tutorial

  1. jakejanj@juno.com

    Cool! Very interesting!! Somehow, it looks like it would be a little more challenging for me, than you. As you well know, I’m much more challenged than most people. It’s a cute idea though, so maybe, someday!! I bought two booster chairs at a Thrift store for the boys, for $2.each. I think they’ll work just fine! Again, sorry that my computer cut our Skyping off last Sun. night, and that I could not figure out how to get back on. Love to all! Mom

Leave a Reply

